Portugal’s Plans Revealed! First Acts Now Known!

Portugal is back after a short absence from the Eurovision Song Contest. To select their act for the 2017 contest, they have chosen to use the Festival da Canção format used in previous years. This year, there will be two semi-finals held on the 19th and 26th of February, and the final will be held on the 5th of March, where one lucky participant will be chosen to represent Portugal at Eurovision in Kyiv.

Portuguese broadcaster RTP invited 16 well known composers to write songs for the contest, and interestingly, the composers chose who would be singing their songs. A total of eight songs will participate in each semi-final of the anniversary show, where 4 of which will proceed from each semi to create a final lineup of 8 acts.

The first 8 acts have been revealed, and next week, the final 8 acts will be announced. Here are the acts for the first semi-final:

  1. Márcia (Márcia)

  2. Golden Slumbers (Samuel Úria)

  3. Fernando Daniel (Nuno Feist)

  4. Deolinda Kinzimba (Rita Redshoes)

  5. Rui Drumond (Héber Marques)

  6. Lisa Garden (Pedro Saraiva)

  7. Salvador Sobral (Luísa Sobral)

  8. Viva La Diva – Kika Cardoso, Luís Peças, João Paulo Ferreira- (Nuno Gonçalves)

Rui Drummond is a former participant of Eurovision, having competed as part of the duo 2B, who performed the song Amar in the 2005 Eurovision Song Contest. They placed 17th in the semi-final, and this time around, Rui hopes to redeem himself as a solo act.

Stay tuned for more news on Portugal’s national final selection!