Robin Bengtsson wins Melodifestivalen with I Can’t Go On!

As one of the most popular Eurovision national selections, many fans were anticipating to see what Melodifestivalen would bring in 2017. With 28 incredible songs, many were struggling to choose and agree on the one act that would take the top spot, and go on to represent Sweden at Eurovision this year. The final of Melodifestivalen took place last night, with a total of 12 acts, 8 of which qualified directly from their respective semi-finals, and 4 of the finalists were chosen last week in the second chance round.

Here are the 12 acts:

  1. Ace Wilder – Wild Child

  2. Boris René – Her Kiss

  3. Lisa Ajax – I Don’t Give A

  4. Robin Bengtsson – I Can’t Go On

  5. Jon Henrik Fjällgren feat. Aninia – En värld full av strider (Eatneme gusnie jeenh dåaroeh)

  6. Anton Hagman – Kiss You Goodbye

  7. Mariette – A Million Years

  8. FO&O – Gotta Thing About You

  9. Nano – Hold On

  10. Wiktoria – As I Lay Me Down

  11. Benjamin Ingrosso – Good Lovin’

  12. Owe Thörnqvist – Boogieman Blues

The voting to decide upon a winner was a combination of televoting and jury votes. The international juries came from Armenia, Australia, UK, France, Israel, Italy, Malta, Norway, Poland, Czech Republic and Ukraine.

The jury votes put Robin in first position, and with a considerable lead over the jury’s second place, Nano. The winner of the competition was decided by the televoting results, which saw Nano take the top score of 57. Wiktoria was second up with 51 points, however her jury results saw her out of the running for the top spot. The race was between Nano and Robin, and wholly dependent on Robin’s televoting score, which was 50. The combined scores put Robin only 15 points ahead of Nano, making Robin the next Eurovision participant for Sweden.

The final results can be seen in the image below. Click to enlarge the photo.

The song itself was amended to make sure the lyrics were suitable for Eurovision, and the song is written by David Kreuger, Hamed ‘K-One’ Pirouzpanah and Robin Stjernberg, who you will recognise as the 2013 Swedish Eurovision participant.

About Robin:

Robin Bengtsson broke through into the music world in 2008 where he finished third in the popular television show Idol. After this, he was offered a record deal and released his first single, which was followed by a number of singles over the years. In 2014, his first EP was released, and then last year, Robin made his Melodifestivalen debut, and ended up in 5th place in the final with his song Constellation Prize, which is still popular even a year after.

Listen to the winning song here, and if you are loving the Swedish entry, make sure to vote for Robin in our poll!