James Newman to Represent the United Kingdom!

After a week full of rumours, it is now official that James Newman will represent the United Kingdom at Eurovision this year. The BBC teamed up with record label BMG to select this year’s act, and James will sing his latest single, My Last Breath on the Eurovision stage.

James Newman is a multi-platinum selling, BRIT award-winning and Grammy nominated songwriter, and has previously won a BRIT for British Single of the Year for Waiting All Night performed by Rudimental and Ella Eyre.

He has worked on a number of songs, including ‘Blame’ which was released by Calvin Harris and John Newman. He has also worked with artists including Ed Sheeran, recording vocals for his song, Lay It All On Me. James co-wrote ‘Coping’ released by Toni Braxton and ‘Let ‘Em Talk’ released by Kesha, which were both Grammy nominated.

James has also been a featured vocalist on numerous songs, with the most notable being his collaboration with Dutch DJ Armin Van Buuren on the song Therapy.

After writing for other artists, James is now ready to take the spotlight.

He recorded his Eurovision entry, My Last Breath in Scotland while staying with fellow songwriters, Ed Drewett, Iain James and Adam Argyle. Iain had also worked on Azerbaijan’s winning Eurovision entry, Running Scared.

Listen to the entry below: