A Total of 41 Countries to Participate at Eurovision 2021

The European Broadcasting Union has now announced that 41 countries will participate in Eurovision 2021.

After the cancellation of Eurovision 2020, it was decided that 2020 host nation The Netherlands would be given the chance to host again in 2021, with its members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS. The contest will be held in Rotterdam’s Ahoy Arena on the 18th, 20th and 22nd May.

The line-up sees no changes from 2020, with the same 41 participating broadcasters to take part in the contest. Martin Österdahl, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, commented, ‘We are grateful for the commitment of the 41 participating broadcasters in helping us bring the Eurovision Song Contest back in 2021’

Executive Producer of Eurovision 2021, Sietse Bakker has said, ‘It is fantastic that the same 41 countries that would have taken part this year still want to come to the Netherlands in May 2021. This demonstrates their confidence in our country still being able to organize a successful Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam next year, after the cancellation of the 2020 edition’

‘We have set the bar high to create 3 amazing live shows for an audience of 180 million people, even in these challenging times. To achieve this, we are working on an extensive protocol that guarantees the health of employees, participants, the press and visitors as much as possible’ he added.

In addition, a number of broadcasters have confirmed that their 2020 participants will be returning to Eurovision 2021. Other broadcasters have confirmed the return of their national finals. You can read more about the selection processes for 2021 here.