🇮🇪 Ireland: Brendan Murray Returns to National Final

Irish broadcaster RTÉ revealed the first two songs competing in the national selection. The winner will follow in Lesley Roy’s footsteps and represent Ireland at Eurovision this year.

A total of 6 entries will take part in the selection. The first two entries debuted on the Ryan Tubridy Show on RTÉ Radio 1. Each day up until January 21st, the remaining songs will debut. The selection will be a special Eurovision episode of the Late Late Show.

Here are the entries – this post will be updated as they are released:

Rachel Goode – I’m Loving Me

Composers: Joakim Övrenius / Thomas Karlsson / Johan Mauritzson / Anna Engh

Rachel is a classically trained soprano from Ballinaslow, County Galway. She is no stranger to the stage, having performed at major venues such as the National Concert Hall and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Artists including Patsy Cline and Mary Black are her inspirations. As for her own style, likes to perform in various genres.

I’m Loving Me is written and composed by some of the team behind the Polish entry from 2021, The Ride.

Brendan Murray – Real Love

Composers: Brendan Murray / Darrell Coyle

Brendan Murray is back! Eurovision fans will remember Brendan from his performance back in 2017 with the song Dying To Try.

Brendan featured as part of the Irish boyband HomeTown from 2014 to 2016. After his Eurovision performance, he participated in The X Factor UK, where he finished 5th.

Janet Grogan – Ashes of Yesterday

Composers: Aidan O’Connor / John Emil / Sandra Wikström

Janet Grogan competed in the 13th series of The X Factor UK, where she reached the judges houses as part of Sharon Osbourne’s team. In 2021, she took part in the singing gameshow ‘Last Singer Standing’. The talented vocalist was the last singer to qualify for the Grand Final, and ultimately finished in 6th place.

She also has Eurovision experience as a backing singer. Janet performed as a backing singer for Nicky Byrne in 2016, and returned in 2018 as a backing singer for Ryan O’Shaughnessy.

Brooke Scullion – That’s Rich

Composers: Brooke Scullion / Izzy Warner / Karl Zine

Brooke Scullion competed on the 2020 season of The Voice UK. All four judges turned their chairs after her impressive audition. She reached the final and finished in joint third.

Patrick O’Sullivan – One Night, One Kiss, One Promise

Composers: Nicky Byrne / Danny O’Reilly / Lar Kaye

Patrick competed in and won the first season of the talent show, The Last Singer in Ireland. The singer originates from Cork, and is now based in London. Patrick was recently case in The Book of Mormon on the Westend.

Nicky Byrne is among the songwriters of this track. The Westlife star and former Eurovision representative was one of three writers for this track.

Miles Graham – Yeah, We’re Gonna Get Out Of It

Composers: Miles Graham Miley, Justin Broad, Paul Herman

Singer-songwriter Miles Graham made his TV debut back in 2018 on The Late Late Show where he performed his song, Let It Shine. Since then, he released a number of dance collaborations as well as his own EP, ‘All The Right Things’.