Europe (and Australia) – We have a winner!

26 absolutely incredible acts took to the stage, but only one song would triumph above others and enter the Eurovision history book. The show, hosted by Måns Zelmerlöw and Petra Mede offered audiences many funny moments, but remained true to the theme of this years’ contest – that being, that we should all come together.

The final 26 were as follows:

  1. Belgium

  2. Czech Republic

  3. The Netherlands

  4. Azerbaijan

  5. Hungary

  6. Italy

  7. Israel

  8. Bulgaria

  9. Sweden

  10. Germany

  11. France

  12. Poland

  13. Australia

  14. Cyprus

  15. Serbia

  16. Lithuania

  17. Croatia

  18. Russia

  19. Spain

  20. Latvia

  21. Ukraine

  22. Malta

  23. Georgia

  24. Austria

  25. United Kingdom

  26. Armenia

After performances by the hosts, and none other than Justin Timberlake, it was finally time to receive the results from Europe. This year, as you may know, the voting procedure changed. The split of votes remains as 50/50 jury and televote, however how the votes are presented was different to previous years.

The first part of the voting sequence was what we are used to seeing. The spokespersons for each country appeared on screen and revealed their 12 points – however, this was ONLY jury vote. We saw diversity in where the points were going, however after the total jury vote, we saw that Australia was far ahead of the other nations.

Now it was down to the televote. The televoting points were added together to produce scores, which were announced from lowest to highest. As a result of this, we didn’t see who would be the winner until the very last moment. At this moment, we saw that Ukraine had just taken over Australia, and Russia was unable to catch up. This means that Ukraine has won the contest with Jamala and the song 1944.

Another year over, but the Eurovision journey has not ended. Over the next few weeks, we will continue bringing you debrief articles, and exciting new content! And let’s not forget, there’s Junior Eurovision too!

Congratulations Ukraine!