Malta Shortlists 30 acts for Their 2018 National Final!

We’re barely into the new Eurovision season, and Malta have already considered their submissions and are onto the next stage of their selection process. We first reported on Malta’s selection process back in July, where the submission stage had begun. The potential acts could submit their songs with a 150 Euro fee for each entry. Following the start of the new Eurovision season, on September 1st, the submission period closed, and the acts were considered by a panel of judges.

Maltese broadcaster PBS have announced that 129 songs were submitted by various artists, some of which we’ve seen from previous national finals, plus some new faces. The first cut of songs was to 60, and then this was halved again to reach the 30 entries of which we now know.

This is not the final list. The elimination process will continue until there are only 16 entries, which will perform in the national final in February next year. The winner will then be decided solely by the public.

Without further ado, here are the 30 shortlisted acts!

  • Casablanca Love – Abire Sekkaki

  • Dai Laga – AIDAN

  • See You – AIDAN

  • We Can Run – Avenue Sky

  • Heart of Gold – Brooke Borg

  • Taboo – Christabelle Borg

  • If Only – Dan

  • One Step at a Time – Danica Muscat

  • Turn It Up – Deborah C

  • Human – Deborah C & Joseph Tabone

  • Picture I Draw – Dominic Cini

  • Back To Life – Eleanor Cassar

  • Good Times – Ishmael Grech

  • Supernovas – Jasmine Abela

  • Super Woman – Kelsey Bellante

  • Great Adventure – Kevin Paul Calleja

  • Monsters – Kimberley Cortis

  • You Will Find Me – Kurt Anthony Cassar

  • Love Renegade – Lawrence Gray

  • Kiss – Malcolm Pisani

  • Call 2morrow – Matthew Caruana

  • Breaking Point – Mikhail Attard & Cherylis Camileri

  • Rocket – Miriana Conte

  • Mixed Feelings – Nicole Azzopardi

  • Evolution – Petra Whiteford

  • In My Mind – Raquel Galdes

  • Beyond Blue Horizons – Rhiannon Micallef

  • Song For Dad – Richard Joe Micallef

  • Closer – Stefan Galea

  • First Time – Tiziana Calleja

There are some notable names in this list, including Nicole Azzopardi, who you may recognise as Malta’s representative from Junior Eurovision 2010. Brooke Borg has come close to winning Malta’s national selection twice now, so will it be third time lucky for her? We’ve also seen Lawrence Gray various times, as well as Christabelle Borg, Danica Muscat and former Eurovision artist Richard Micallef.

Which songs are you excited to hear, and which artists do you want to see in the national final next year?