Eurovision 2019: The Submission period in Romania begins!

Once again Romania will be using the format of Selecția Națională to select their Eurovision act for 2019 and now the submission period has begun for artists wishing to compete.

Romanian broadcaster TVR have opened the submission period on the TVR website up until the 10th of December, and by the 20th of December, the 24 semi-finalists will be revealed. For this edition of Selecția Națională, there will be just two semi-finals taking place in January/February 2019. A national jury will select up to five songs in each semi-final while the public will be able to pick the sixth finalist from the semi-finals. TVR are also able to select one wildcard act for the final, meaning that the final will contain no more than 13 competing entries.

The final will be held in February, and for the first time the format will include an international jury to help select the Romanian Eurovision representative. The will hold 50% of the vote, while the public will hold the other 50%. In the case of a tie, it will be the international jury who will decide the winner.

The venues for the national selection are yet to be announced, but it has been said that TVR will opt for a multi-city selection much like the 2018 selection which was held in cities across Romania. Stay tuned for more news!

Watch their most recent performance at Eurovision below: