Romania kicks off their selection for Eurovision 2019!

The Romanian national selection, Selecția Națională has kicked off with the first semi-final taking place over the weekend.

The first semi-final featured 11 artists fighting for just 6 places in the final. The voting consisted of jury voting predominately, with the jury selecting five acts to qualify. From there, the public was able to vote on the remaining contestants and the act with the most votes also qualified to the final.

Here is the full line-up:

  • Trooper – “Destin”
  • Berniceya – “The Call: Dynasty of Love”
  • Ommieh and Anakrisez – “Rock This Way”
  • Teodora Dinu – “Skyscraper”
  • Dya and Lucian Colareza – “Without You (Sin ti)”
  • Nicola – “Weight of the World”
  • Steam – “The Way It Goes”
  • Vaida – “Underground”
  • Claudiu Mirea – “We Are the Ones”
  • The Four – “Song of My Heart”
  • Bella Santiago – “Army of Love”

Here are the qualifiers from the jury vote:

  • Trooper
  • Teodora Dinu
  • Dya and Lucian Colareza
  • Claudiu Mirea
  • Bella Santiago

The public vote qualifier was Vaida with the song Underground.

The next semi-final will take place on the 10th of February, while the final will take place on the 17th of February.