Slovenian National Finalists Revealed: Tinkara Kovač Returns!

Slovenian broadcaster RTVSLO have now announced the ten artists to take part in the Slovenian national final, EMA. The winner of the selection will go on to represent Slovenia at Eurovision in 2020, which will be held in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

The line-up is as follows:

  • Ana Soklič
  • Božidar Wolfand Wolf
  • Gaja Prestor
  • Imset
  • Inmate
  • Klara Jazbec
  • Lina Kuduzović
  • Manca Berlec
  • Simon Vadnjal
  • Tinkara Kovač

There are some familiar names in the line-up, most notably Tinkara Kovač who represented Slovenia in 2014 with the song Round and Round. This will be her fifth participation in the Slovenian national selection, having attempted to represent Slovenia in 1997, 1999 and 2001 before she won the selection in 2014.

Lina Kuduzović will also be a familiar name for Junior Eurovision fans, as she represented Slovenia back in 2015 with the song Prva Ljubezen, which finished in 3rd place.

Two more acts will join the line-up from the new format, EMA FREŠ which has taken place over the last two months. EMA FREŠ was a pre-selection format designed to highlight fresh talent, with the top two acts to receive a place in the EMA national final. This new selection features artists under the age of 26 who have not commercially released more than three copyrighted songs.

The main EMA selection will take place on the 22nd of February. During the show, a professional jury will select two super finalists who till perform again in a second round. From there, the public will be able to vote on the final two acts, with the winner to go on to represent Slovenia at Eurovision.