Iceland to send Greta Salome… again!

Last night at Reykjavik’s Laugardalsholl arena, it was Iceland’s choice to choose their representative for Eurovision. In total, six acts took to the stage, and this year it was more special for the island nation as it marks the 30th anniversary of their debut in Eurovision.

The six acts to take the stage were as follows:

  1. Greta Salóme – Hear Them Calling

  2. Hjörtur Traustason & Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir – I Promised You Then

  3. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir – The Eye Of The Storm

  4. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson –Ready To Break Free

  5. Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný

  6. Alda Dís Arnardóttir – Now

The first round of voting consisted of a 50/50 split between jury and televote. The top 2 took to the stage again to sing their songs as part of the super-final, and these acts were Alda Dís Arnardóttir and Greta Salóme. The second round of voting was purely televoting, and the public of Iceland had decided that it would be Greta who would represent Iceland once again.

Greta Salome had participated as part of a duo with Jonsi back in 2012 with the song Never Forget. Will Greta improve on her last Eurovision result and bring a victory to Iceland? If Hear them Calling is your new favourite Eurovision 2016 song, make sure to vote for Greta in our poll, which you can find here. You can also listen to the song here: