Lighthouse X will represent Denmark!

The 46th edition of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix took place recently, whereby 10 songs competed for the opportunity to represent Denmark at this year’s Eurovision song contest. The songs competing were:

  • Anja Nissen – Never alone

  • Bracelet – Breakaway

  • David Jay – Rays of sunlight

  • Jessica – Break it good

  • Kristel Lisberg – Who needs a heart

  • Lighthouse X – Soldiers of love

  • Muri & Mario – To stjerner

  • Simone – Heart shaped hole

  • Sophia Nohr – Blue horizon

  • Veronicas Illusion – The wrong kind

After all the songs were performed on stage in the city of Horsens, the top three acts were announced. The voting consisted of a combination of jury and public voting at a 50/50 split. The top three songs were Simone with Heart Shaped Hole, Lighthouse X with Soldiers of Love and finally Anja Nissen with Never Alone.

This year, the Danish broadcaster DR introduced a new app which could be used alongside SMS voting. After the top 3 songs were performed again, the public were able to vote again for their favourite to win.

With 42% of the vote, it was announced that Lighthouse X would be the act to represent Denmark in Stockholm in May. Anja Nissen followed on 36% and Simone with 22%.

The show also featured the 2012 winner Loreen, who performed Euphoria on stage.

Do you like the Danish choice? If you do, support Lighthouse X on our 2016 poll, which you can find here. You can listen to the song down below: