Six cities have submitted bids to hold Eurovision 2017!

The National Television Company of Ukraine (NTU) has now named the 6 cities which hope to host Eurovision in 2017. Each city now has the chance to present their bids to the Organisational Committee of the 2017 contest in a televised special called City Battle. Two cities will be chosen from these six, and these final two bids will be examined by the Organisational Committee and the EBU. The host city should be known by the 1st of August.

On the 20th of July, the programme City Battle will be broadcast live on NTU1 and on national radio at 17:30 CET. In the programme, representatives from the bidding cities will present their campaigns in front of a live studio audience. It will also be broadcast on Youtube, and through NTU’s official Facebook page for all hoping to watch the bidding take place.

Members of the Organisational Committee along with media and music representatives as well as fans will take part in the discussion. Two cities will be chosen to move forward into the next round, as such, and from there, preference will be given to the city which has the most suitable arena, and the ability to be able to accommodate the masses of people who will travel from across the world to watch Europe’s biggest musical spectacular.

Here are the 6 candidates:

  • Kyiv – Has been a host to Eurovision 2005, and Junior Eurovision 2009 and 2013

  • Lviv – Has hosted games as part of the UEFA Euro 2012

  • Odessa – Chornomorets Stadium* used as a football stadium

  • Dnipro – Meteor Stadium* used for a range of Olympic sports

  • Kharkiv – Has hosted games as part of the UEFA Euro 2012

  • Kherson

Ukraine’s Minister for Culture, Yevhen Nyshchuk has also stated that it should be considered that a new venue is constructed, as they believe that Ukraine currently doesn’t have an arena suitable. However, Kyiv has hosted the contest before, plus both Junior Eurovision contests which took place in Ukraine.

Who would you like to see host Eurovision 2017?

*No official confirmation that it is these specific stadiums by, our chosen official source of information