Boris Covali Withdraws from Melodie Pentru Europa

They’re dropping like flies in Moldova, with the announcement that Boris Covali will also be withdrawing from the Moldovan national final. This is the third act that has left before the show has even began, after Constantin Cobilean and Irina Kit were both withdrawn.

Boris was due to compete in the national final with the song Călător however the Moldovan broadcaster released a brief statement saying that Boris has asked to withdraw for ‘personal reasons.’ The act and song that will replace him is Liuba Doga with the song One Thought Away.

As mentioned above, this is the third act to be withdrawn from the competition. You’ll remember that Constantin Cobilean left the national selection when it was found out that his competing song Mama was actually performed before the 1st of September 2016, which goes against the rules of the Eurovision Song Contest. Nadia Mosneagu was the replacement with the song Never Give Up On Us.

Not long after, Irina Kit also departed the completion after claims that her song Baby Don’t Cry was too similar to Akon’s 2006 song Bananza. Irina originally claimed innocence as she was not the one to write the song, however rules are rules, and the song is no longer a part of the competition. The song that is due to replace Baby Don’t Cry is Glow, which will be performed by Samir Loghin. Samir has entered songs into the broadcaster every year since 2014, however this is the first time he has made it to the semi-final.

The semi-final will be held on the 24th of February, and hopefully no more acts withdraw!