Malta selects Claudia Faniello!

Malta’s national final has taken place overnight, where 16 entries have performed their Eurovision bids. These 16 acts were selected from the 60 shortlisted acts, and now we only have one standing, the one who will now go on to represent Malta. This is a special Eurovision year for Malta as well, as it is the 30th year of participation.

The show was held in Malta Fairs & Conventions Centre in Ta’Quali, and the hosts of the show were Daniel Azzopardi and Charlene Mercieca. Here are the 16 participants:

  1. Klinsmann – Laserlight

  2. Raquela – Ray Of Light

  3. Deborah C & Josef Tabone – Tonight

  4. Kevin Borg – Follow

  5. Jade – Seconds Away

  6. Crosswalk – So Simple

  7. Franklin Calleja – Follow Me

  8. Rhiannon Micallef – Fearless

  9. Miriana Conte – Don’t Look Down

  10. Shauna – Crazy Games

  11. Janice Mangion – Kewkba

  12. Cherton – Fighting To Survive

  13. Maxine – Bombshell

  14. Richard Edwards – You

  15. Brooke – Unstoppable

  16. Claudia Faniello – Breathlessly

The winner was chosen solely through the televoting, and only one vote was accepted from each phone line. The top three were:

  1. Claudia Faniello – Breathlessly

  2. Janice Mangion – Kewkba

  3. Kevin Borg – Follow

Therefore, it will be Claudia who will be Malta’s 30th Eurovision participant! Throughout the show there were also performances from Ira Losco and Christina Magrin, the latter represented Malta at Junior Eurovision 2016, which was also hosted in Malta.

About Claudia Faniello

Claudia has been a part of the performing arts since a child, as she participated in television shows and music festivals. She began her Eurovision journey in 2006, where she participated in the national final for Eurovision 2006 with the song High Alert. Ironically, her brother, Fabrizio Faniello was the winner of the 2006 contest. The following year she entered the national final again with the song L-Imħabba Għamja however again missed out on representing Malta. Claudia continued trying by entering songs into the 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. In 2012, she ended in second place with the song Pure.

2017 is the lucky year for Claudia, after winning the national final with the song Breathlessly, which was composed by Philip Vella, Sean Vella and Gerard James Borg. Listen to the song down below: