Czech Republic Reveals the Six National Finalists!

Late last year, we discussed the route that the Czech Broadcaster have chosen to take to select their 2018 Eurovision entry. Czech Republic is one of a handful of nations who have chosen to return to a national final, and now we can finally reveal the six act who have made the cut for the selection!

As we previously reported, over 400 entries were received, showing a range of different producers and performers, including 36 Czech authors. This is the first time a national selection has been used to select a Czech act in 10 years, so perhaps the change in approach will give Czech Republic the success that they’ve been striving for.

Today we’ve seen the debut of all six competing entries, but how does the national selection work? Interestingly, there will be no televised final, but rather the selection takes place solely online. Now that the songs are revealed, voting has now opened through the official Eurovision app. Czech and International fans can vote for their favourite, but only the votes from the Czech public will count towards the final result. Voting is free, but viewers can only vote once. After two weeks, voting will close, on January 22nd.

Alongside the public vote is the international jury panel who will also cast their votes. The results of the jury vote will be revealed on the 22nd, with the highest amount of points being 8 to their collective favourite, then 6 to their second favourite, then 4, 3, 2 and 1 point. The public votes will be converted to the same scoring system. In the case of a tie, the public vote will be the decider.

Now to the bit you’ve been waiting for, to listen to the entries! Here are the competing artists:

  • Doctor Victor – Stand Up

  • Debbi – High On Love

  • Eddie Stoilow – We Rule This World

  • Eva Buresova – Fly

  • Mikolas Josef – Lie To Me

  • Pavel Callta – Never Forget

Listen to the songs below, and tell us what you think!