Ukraine Will Participate at Eurovision 2018, bringing the total to 20!

A few weeks back, we reported that Ukraine had declined Junior Eurovision participation due to financial issues, and we also received the full list of participants for this year’s contest from the EBU – which excluded Ukraine.

We now have news that Ukraine WILL be participating at this year’s contest, bringing the total number of participants to 20 which is a record for the contest. Ukrainian broadcaster UA:PBC announced that they felt they had a ‘duty to make every effort not to deprive Ukraine of Junior Eurovision.’

To save on costs, the broadcaster will be using an online format to select their act rather than a traditional national selection. Even with that, the broadcaster will be relying on the Ukrainian government to assist with funding under the law of Public Television and Radio Broadcasting in Ukraine.

Here is the full list of participants:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • The Netherlands
  • Ukraine
  • Wales