132 songs received for Iceland’s Eurovision Selection

As the wheels of the Eurovision 2019 season start to turn, more news has come out of Iceland where the broadcaster has revealed more news about their 2019 selection.

Icelandic broadcaster RÚV have revealed that a total of 132 songs were submitted for next year’s Söngvakeppnin. Now that the submission period is closed, a committee will proceed to listen to the submitted entries to determine who will participate in the national final.

The panel consists of representatives from the Association of Icelandic Sound Artists, the Association of Composers and Songwriters as well as from the broadcaster itself. RÚV have also invited specific songwriters to take part in the process.

The competing songs will be revealed in January 2019. The selection will only feature 10 artists as opposed to 12. Additionally, British choreographer Lee Proud will be the Artistic Director for the contest.

Stay tuned for more news from Iceland, but for now watch their 2018 Eurovision performance:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.