126 Entries Submitted for the Romanian Eurovision Selection

Earlier in the season, Romanian broadcaster TVR announced that they would be continuing to use a public national final format to select their Eurovision entrant for 2019. The submission period has since closed, and the broadcaster has announced that 126 songs have been submitted.

For the show set to take place early next year, there will be a total of 24 semi-finalists over two semi-final shows. During the semi-finals, a national jury will select up to five songs to qualify to the final from each semi-final, and then the public will be able to have their say, with one entrant chosen by the public to progress. TVR also has the right to select one wildcard act. In this way, we will not see more than 13 acts participate in the final. The semi-finalists will be revealed on December 20.

In the final, the format will incorporate an international jury for the first time. This jury will hold 50% of the vote, with the other 50% coming from the public. In case of a tie, it will be the jury who will decide who will represent Romania in Tel Aviv.

Listen to the 2018 entry below:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.