Eurovision Choir 2019: Denmark wins with Vocal Line!

The second edition of Eurovision Choir has concluded, with the winner now decided. Danish choir Vocal Line has won this year’s contest, followed by Latvia and Slovenia.

The competition was hosted at the Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden and the hosts of the show were Petroc Trelawny (BBC) and Ella Petersson (SVT). A total of ten choirs from across Europe performed a musical set lasting no more than four minutes, with the top three choirs selected by a jury. The jury consisted of Katarina Henryson, John Rutter and Deke Sharon.

Here are the competitors:

  • Sweden – Zero8
  • Belgium – Almkalia
  • Latvia – Babite Municipality Mixed Choir Maska
  • Germany – BonnVoice
  • Norway – Volve Vokal
  • Denmark – Vocal Line
  • Scotland – Alba
  • Slovenia – Jazzva
  • Switzerland – Cake O’Phonie
  • Wales – Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion

After the performances, the jury gave their comments and ultimately the top 3 were decided.  The top 3 were:

  • Latvia – Babite Municipality Mixed Choir Maska
  • Denmark – Vocal Line
  • Slovenia – Jazzva

These three choirs performed another set, and afterwards the winner was revealed to be Vocal Line from Denmark.

EBU Head of Live Events, Jon Ola Sand congratulated the winners, saying, ‘Vocal Line from Denmark truly deserve to be named Eurovision Choir 2019. Tonight, we saw 10 choirs sharing a fantastic spirit of togetherness. The joy these singers feel making music with each other carried across to the audiences here in Gothenburg and those watching at home. This year’s Eurovision Choir provided a fantastic journey across Europe’s cultures and traditions and we’re thrilled to have provided another opportunity for public service media to use music to unite audiences.’

Watch the winning moments here!

Watch the full contest (with Danish commentary) below: