Portugal begins the search for Eurovision 2020

Portuguese broadcaster RTP have announced that the search for the next Eurovision entry has begun.

The broadcaster will be once again using Festival da Canção to select their Eurovision act, with the focus first on the composers of the entries. Similar to the previous edition, a total of 16 songs by 16 different writers will be participating in the contest. From the 16 songwriters, 14 will be invited to participate by RTP, one will be selected through Masterclass on Antena 1, and one will be chosen through a public selection.

The deadline for public submissions is October 15th, and all demo versions of songs must be submitted by October. The final versions of the songs must be submitted by November. The songs and composers will be released at a later date.

Listen to Portugal’s 2018 Eurovision entry, Telemoveis, below: