Slovenia: EMA Freš Participants Announced

Earlier in the national final season, it was revealed that the Slovenian national selection would contain a new feature called EMA Freš, designed at highlighting fresh Slovenian talent. Now, the names of the participants have been revealed.

In total, there will be 18 songs competing in EMA Freš, and two of those acts will continue through to the main EMA selection. This new addition to the EMA format is designed to give artists under the age of 26 who have not commercially released more than three copyrighted songs a platform to showcase their music.

A jury assessed all the submissions and selected the 18 participants for EMA Freš. As the songs are not in their final form yet, the viewers will get an insight into the process of making the songs.

Here are the participants:

  • Alfirev – Črno bela lika
  • Astrid in Avantgarden – Sing To Me
  • Klarity – Diham
  • Lana Hrvatin – Dream
  • Ljudmila Frelih – Vztrajaj, ker je vredno
  • Marko Škof – Hočem da je vse kot prej
  • Marmoris – Moj Pristan
  • Martina – Pleši
  • Nuša Pliberšek – Življenje je čarovnija
  • Parvani Violet – Cupid
  • Petra Ceglar – Srce naglas
  • Pia Nina – Tukaj in zdaj
  • Sara Petešič Sanjaj
  • Saška – Še kar lovim tvoj nasmeh
  • Solution – Bil bom s teboj
  • Stella – Ne vem če sem v redu
  • Tilen Lotrič – Jaz in ti
  • Younite – The Cure

The competition will begin on November 4th, and will last for five weeks. Two acts will be presented every week from Monday to Wednesday, and the public will select a winner from each daily duel. The winners of the duels will compete in another round on Friday’s where the winner will be selected. The jury will also select a second winner each week.

A total of six artists will qualify to the final of EMA Freš in the first three weeks. Out of the remaining 12 acts, four of them will then be selected through an online competition in the following two weeks to advance to the final. The ten finalists of EMA Freš will then compete for two places in the main EMA selection, where the winner of the main selection will go to Eurovision in Rotterdam.