Jüri Pootsmann to represent Estonia with ‘Play’

As in previous years, Estonia used the Eesti Laul format to choose their Eurovision act. The growing popularity was clear, with 5300 people coming to see the show in Saku Suurhall. The show was hosted by Ott Sepp and Mart Avandi.

The ten finalists are listed below:

  1. Laura – Supersonic

  2. Go away bird – Sally

  3. Mick Pedaja – Sejs

  4. Grete Paia – Stories untold

  5. Kéa – Lonely Boy

  6. Jüri Pootsmann – Play

  7. Kati Laev ja Noorkuu – Kaugel Sinust

  8. Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid – Immortality

  9. Meisterjaan – Parmupillihullus

  10. I Wear* Experiment – Patience

The first round of voting was done by both expert jury and a public vote. Three acts continued on to the superfinal, and these were Jüri Pootsmann, Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid and Laura. In the second round of voting, it was purely public vote to decide on the winner, and it was decided that Jüri Pootsmann was the winner, with his song Play.

During the show we also got to see performances from the fifteen year old Finnish pop star Isac Elliot. Another act to perform during the interval was Maarja-Liis Ilus and Ivo Linna, who represented Estonia in 1996 Eurovision.

Who is Jüri Pootsmann?

The 21 year old has only very recently hit the music scene in Estonia, after winning the Estonian edition of Idol in 2015. This was only 3 years after he began singing solo, but his talent undeniable, with a record deal signed with Universal Music after his win on the television talent contest. He was then voted as the Best Male Act at the 2015 Estonian Music Awards.

The composers of his song Play are also familiar faces. Stig Rasta, who performed last year with Elina Born, is part of the three piece team behind the song Play. Alongside Stig is Vallo Kikas and Fred Krieger. This trio also helped write and produce the debut album of Elina Born.

To listen to the song, click down below. If you think Estonia is onto a winner with Play, make sure you vote in our poll, which you can find here.