Russia’s Sergey becomes the Only One to Beat

Earlier in the Eurovision national final season, we reported that Sergey Lazarev would be Russia’s participant this year. Sergey is one of Russia’s biggest artists right now, and he will be taking the song You are the Only One to Eurovision this year.

The song was composed by Philip Kirkorov and Dimitris Kontopoulos, who have both written Eurovision songs in the past, including the 2014 Russian entry, Shine. The lyrics of this years’ entry were written by John Ballard and Ralph Charlie Fahel.

The video for the song features some state of art video production, including 3D projection, which meant that every element of the video had to be rehearsed to perfection, including the movements of cameras and lighting. Any mistakes meant that the filming had to be done from the beginning, however the end result is a really entertaining film clip.

The song has now become the one to beat, with bookmakers picking Russia to win the contest this year. Do you agree? Listen to the song below, and if you think Sergey is your only one, make sure to vote for him in our poll, which you can find here.