Agnete to sing Icebreaker in Stockholm!

Similar to previous years, Norway chose their Eurovision artist through a national final – Melodi Grand Prix, where this year, ten participants took to the stage. The show was broadcast from the Oslo Spektrum, which was the same venue which hosted Eurovision in 1996. This time around, Melodi Grand Prix was hosted by Silya Nymoen and Kåre Magnus Bergh.

The 10 acts competing were:

  • Agnete – Icebreaker

  • Elouiz – History

  • Freddy Kalas – Feel Da Rush

  • Laila Samuels – Afterglow

  • Makeda – Stand Up

  • Pegasus – Anyway

  • Stage Dolls – Into the Fire

  • Stine Hole Ulla – Traces

  • Suite 16 – Anna Lee

  • The Hungy Hearts featuring Lisa Dillan – Laika

The voting was totally up to the public. There were two rounds of voting, the first decided which acts would move onto the ‘Gold Final’ and the second round decided the winner. The acts which qualified for the second round were:

  1. Agnete – Icebreaker – 195,728 votes

  2. Freddy Kalas – Feel Da Rush – 88,128 votes

  3. Suite 16 – Anna Lee – 56,671 votes

  4. Laila Samuels – Afterglow – 48,865 votes

As such, Agnete is the chosen artist for Eurovision! She will be taking her song Icebreaker to Eurovision this year, where she will be singing in the second semi-final.

Apart from the competing performances, there was a special guest during the interval. Kate Gulbrandsen, from the 1987 Eurovision Song Contest performed for the audience, and then last year’s participants sang their entry Monster Like Me.

Listen to the Norwegian song down below, and if you think Icebreaker could be a dark horse to win Eurovision, make sure to vote for it in our poll, which you can find here.

If you are interested in having your review posted on this very website, for Agnete or any other artist of this year’s contest, click here to read how you can get involved!