43 Countries to Compete in Kyiv!

The EBU has now officially announced that there will be a record high 43 countries participating in Eurovision 2017 held in the Ukrainian capital, Kyiv. This equals the total from 2008 and 2011, which also featured 43 countries.

The countries returning to the contest after absence include Portugal and Romania, who did not participate in 2016. The contest will also be welcoming Australia back into the contest for their 3rd appearance. Unfortunately, Bosnia & Herzegovina will not be returning in 2017 due to a restructure within the host broadcaster BHRT. It also marks a special contest for Austria, Denmark and the UK, who will be celebrating the 60th anniversary of their debut participation in 1957.

The EBU’s Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest Jon Ola Sand has said, ‘We are delighted that 43 national broadcasters have signed up for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest equalling our record highest participation. We have not had this many countries in one contest since 2011 in Düsseldorf. The Eurovision Song Contest still unites audiences like no other show, reaching over 200 million people in 2016. We’re looking forward to three fantastic shows in Kyiv next May’

Here is the list of countries participating in 2017:

  • Albania

  • Armenia

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Azerbaijan

  • Belarus

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Georgia

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Israel

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Y. R. Macedonia

  • Malta

  • Moldova

  • Montenegro

  • The Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania

  • Russia

  • San Marino

  • Serbia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Ukraine

  • United Kingdom

The semi-finals will take place on Tuesday the 9th of May and Thursday the 11th of May, and the final will take place on Saturday the 13th of May.