Slovenia Announces EMA Participants!

This year, Slovenia will be employing the EMA national final to choose their 2017 Eurovision act, and now, broadcaster RTVSLO has announced the names of the competitors fighting it out! EMA has been used for 7 years to select the Slovenian act, and this year’s contest will be held on the 17th and 18th of February for the preliminary rounds, then the 24th for the final.

The contest, which will be held in Ljubljana’s Gospordarsko Razstavišče Exhibiton and Conference Centre will be in the format of two preliminary contests, each of which will feature 8 acts each. Four of these songs will be qualifying for the final from each preliminary contest, two televote selected acts and two jury selected acts. Therefore, in the final, eight acts will compete for the right to represent Slovenia at Eurovision in Kyiv.

The expert selection jury features ManuElla, 2016 Slovenian Eurovision representative, Boštjan Grabnar, musician, music author and producer, Jernej Vene, music editor at Val 202 and Aleksander Radić, the EMA project editor.

The eventual winner of the show will be decided by 6 regional juries and televoting. Points will be given to the best six songs according to each jury, and then points will also be given to for the best six by televote. The numbers are 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 from each jury, then 12, 24, 36, 48, 60 and 72 points for the overall televote. The official split of voting is 50/50.

Here are the acts competing:

1st preliminary contest:

  • Amaya (Maja Keuc)

  • King Foo

  • Lea Sirk

  • Nika Zorjan

  • Omar Naber

  • Sell Out

  • Tosca Beat

  • Zala

2nd preliminary contest:

  • Alya

  • BQL

  • Ina Shai

  • Kataya & Duncan Kamakana

  • Nuša Drašček

  • Raiven

  • Tim Kores Kori

  • United Pandaz & Arsello feat. Alex Volasko

Maja Keuc and Omar Naber both previously represented Slovenia in Eurovision, in 2011 and 2005 respectively.

If you are interested in attending EMA, the tickets will go on sale on the 12th of December. For more information, you can visit the official website here.