Armenia selects Artsvik for Eurovision!

After a mammoth national final that has taken place over the last three months, Armenia has finally come to the conclusion of their search to find who will represent the nation at Eurovision. The final of Depi Evratesil took place last night, where the winner was decided by a mixture of jury and televote.

According to the broadcaster AMPTV, hundreds of artists from around the world submitted their bids to represent Armenia, and all these submissions were shortlisted for the live shows. The format has been running since October, where the acts had competed in front of the jury, which consisted of past Eurovision participants including:

  • Iveta Mukuchyan (2016)

  • Essai Altounian (2015)

  • Aram Mp3 (2014)

  • Inga and Anush (2009)

  • Hayko (2007)

In the second semi-final, which took place on the 17th of December, the top 4 acts performed once again and were judged by an international jury, which featured Nodiko and Sopho from Georgia (2013 participants in Eurovision) along with Christer Björkman and Sacha Jean-Baptiste, alongside a number of others. The participant’s peformed twice, with the second round of songs beingformer Eurovision songs:

  • Marta – Rhythm Inside

  • Syuzanna Melqonyan – Sweet People

  • Artsvik – A Million Voices

  • Egine – Warrior

The top two artists were Marta and Artsvik, who performed another two songs each in the final, and it was decided by jury and televote that Artsvik was the winner of the competition. Artsvik had 31% of the jury vote, and 40% of the televote.

The song that Artsvik will sing will be released in the coming weeks. Here is her performance of A Million Voices: