Hungary Reveal the 30 Participants for A Dal 2018! [Updated]

As the Eurovision national final season begins to heat up, the next destination to reveal more information about their selection is Hungary. As per the last few years, Hungary and their broadcaster MTVA have chosen to use A Dal as their selection process, and now we know the 30 acts that will compete for the opportunity to represent Hungary at Eurovision 2018.

The televised selection process will begin in mid-January, where the 30 acts will compete over three heats, where 10 acts will compete in each heat with five of these acts qualifying for the next round, plus a 6th act decided by public vote. The next round is the semi-finals, where 9 acts will compete, and four qualifying. From there is the final, where the 8 acts will be reduced by the jury to four acts. The winner will then be selected by 100% public vote.

The heats will take place on January 20, 27 and February 3. The semi-finals will take place of February 10 and 17, and the final on the 24th of February.

Here are the 30 acts:

  • #yeahla feat.Viki Eszes – “Egy szó, mint száz”

  • Andy Roll – “Turn The Lights On”

  • AWS – “Viszlát nyár”

  • Ceasefire X – “Satellites”

  • Cintia Horváth – “Journey”

  • Fourtissimo – “Kisnyuszi a kalapban”

  • Gabi Knoll – “Nobody to die for”

  • Gábor Heincz ”BIGA” – “Good vibez”

  • Gergely Dánielfy – “Azt mondtad”

  • Ham ko Ham – “Bármerre jársz”

  • Leander Kills – “Nem szól harang”

  • Living Room – “Kirakat élet”

  • Maszkura és a Tücsökraj – “Nagybetus szavak”

  • Maya ‘n’ Peti – “Nekem te”

  • Nemzenekar – “Waiting”

  • Nene zenekar – “Mese a királyról”

  • Nikoletta Szoke, Attila Kökény, Róbert Szakcsi Lakatos – “Életre kel”

  • Noémo – “Levegot”

  • Nova Prospect – “Vigyázó”

  • Peet Project – “Runaround”

  • Odett Polgár – “Aranyhal”

  • Reni Tolvai – “Crack My Code”

  • Roland Gulyás – “Hypnotized”

  • SativuS – “Lusta lány”

  • Tamás Horváth – “Meggyfa”

  • Tamás Vastag – “Ne hagyj reményt”

  • The Matter – “Broken Palms”

  • Viktor Király – “Budapest Girl”

  • Yesyes – “I let you run away”

  • Zsolt Süle – “Zöld a május”


Since the announcement of the participants, there has been a change in the line-up due to a withdrawal from the contest. The Matter have announced that they have had to withdraw due to personal reasons, releasing this statement,

‘With our biggest regret, we cannot take the obligations coming with the A Dal 2018 competition. Due to unexpected family issues, our lead vocalist Mushu [Izsák Palmer] has to stay at Vienna in the upcoming months. Thank you for the trust, and to the jury members for seeing potential in our song and our band. Also, we wish the best for the other competing acts!’

So who will replace The Matter (formerly known as Mushu)?

[Update 2]

It’s not A Dal if there’s not at least 2 line-up changes, and as expected, there’s been another change. Another band has pulled out of the contest, this time it’s Nemzenekar who have withdrawn due to scheduling conflicts. They’ve also released a statement, saying,

‘We met some unforeseen reasons and obligations, which make us unable to guarantee that we will be present at the scheduled rehearsals, shootings and live broadcasts in the upcoming months. With regret, we have to step back from the competition.’

To replace Nemzenekar is Viki Singh who is a familiar face to A Dal, having participated twice now, inclufing 2017 with her song Rain which reached the semi-finals. Her song for 2018 is called Butterfly House and will be made available to listen to soon.

The A Dal jury have already selected the band Patikadomb who will perform the song Jó szelet!

If curiosity is getting the better of you, you can listen to 30 second snippets of all the songs on the official A Dal website here.

Which acts are you excited for? Watch Hungary’s 2017 act here:

Here is our A Dal Playlist on Spotify!