Rasmussen to represent Denmark at Eurovision 2018!

Among the countless national selections this weekend, Denmark was one of two nations to decide on their song and artist combination for Eurovision, and it certainly made for an exciting show. The show took place in Aalborg, and was hosted by Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark.

There were 10 acts competing this year, and we were introduced to these acts only a few weeks ago, with the songs being released only days before the contest. This year the applicants were asked to pay attention to their stage performance and visuals from the moment they submitted their entries to encourage a complete Eurovision package.

Here are the competitors:

  • Ditte Marie – Riot

  • Anna Ritsmar – Starlight

  • Rasmussen – Higher Ground

  • Sannie – Boys on Girls

  • Sandra – Angels To My Battlefield

  • Lasse Meling – Unfound

  • Carlsen – Standing Up For Love

  • KARUI – Signals

  • Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – Holder Fast i Ingenting

  • Albin Fredy – Music For The Road

The voting consisted of a five member jury, which accounted for 50% of the voting, and the other 50% was made up of televote. The first round of voting decided on the top three acts who would go through to the superfinal, where they would be voted on again.

The winner of the show with a convincing 50% of the total vote was Rasmussen with the song Higher Ground, with Anna Ritsmar placing second with 31% of the vote, and Albin Fredy was 3rd with 19% of the vote.

Listen to the song down below, and make sure to tell us what you think!