Eurovision Young Musicians: Here’s what you need to know!

While many Eurovision fans are following all the drama surrounding Israel and their hosting situation, some may not realise that another event part of the Eurovision Family of Events will be taking place this weekend!

We are of course talking about Eurovision Young Musicians, a competition which takes place every second year. Today we will be looking at the details you need to know about the contest, and then for the rest of the week we will take a closer look at the participants, and we will of course bring you the results!

First of all, the show will be taking place over three nights. The first semi-final will take place on the 18th of August and the second semi-final will take place the day after, on the 19th of August. The final will take place on the 23rd of August.

The host broadcaster of this year’s contest is BBC Scotland, and they will be co-producing the show alongside the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and the Edinburgh International Festival. The final will be held at the Usher Hall in Edinburgh and the semi-final rounds will be held at the Studio of the Edinburgh Festival Theatre.

The host of the show will be Petroc Trelawny, and in the final Josie d’Arby will join Petroc. A total of 18 participants are competing including Albania who are debuting, and Belgium, Estonia, Greece, Israel, Russia, Spain and the UK who are returning.

The winner of the show will be decided by a panel of international music professionals. In the semi-finals, the judges are:

  • British Bassoonist, Ursula Leveaux
  • Spanish percussionist, Noè Roderigo Gisbert
  • Korean pianist, Sinae Lee
  • Cellist and the conductor of the show, David Watkin

In the final, David Watkin will be joined by:

  • American conductor and Violinist, Marin Alsop
  • Composer and performer, Anna Meredith
  • Scottish classical composer and conductor, James MacMillan
  • Head of Music for the Edinburgh International Festival, Andrew Moore

Each semi-final will be split into three shows. Each show will feature three artists, and each semi-final will feature nine artists. Each participant will perform for a total of 18 minutes, with many of the participants performing three songs, with some choosing to perform just 2, and some choosing to perform 4.

A total of six participants will continue through to the final as per the jury votes, and the winner will also be chosen by the jury. The winner will receive a custom made trophy, and also a cash prize of 7000 euros and a performance opportunity with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. The runner up will receive 3000 euros.

Dates of broadcast:


18-19 August

  • Belgium (Musiq’3)
  • Estonia (Klassikaraadio)
  • UK (BBC Radio 3)
  • Rest of the World (YouTube)

20-21 August

  • Russia (Russia-K)

21-22 August

  • Spain (Radio Clásica)

22-23 August

  • Estonia (ETV2)


23 August

  • Belgium (La Trois and Musiq’3)
  • Croatia (HRT 3)
  • Czech Republic (ČT art)
  • Estonia (Klassikaraadio and ETV)
  • Hungary (M5)
  • Norway (NRK2)
  • Poland (TVP Kultura)
  • Russia (Russia-K)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO1)
  • Spain (Radio Clásica)
  • UK (BBC Two Scotland)
  • Rest of the World (YouTube)

24 August

  • UK (BBC Radio 3)

25 August

  • Sweden (SVT2)

2 September

  • Germany (WDR Fernsehen)

Check your local guides to find out more about broadcasting times. Stay tuned for the next post where we will meet the artists competing!