Anniversary edition of Melodi Grand Prix to Feature 40 songs

Prior to Eurovision 2019, Norwegian broadcaster NRK announced their plans for a more extensive national final for 2020.

The broadcaster has now released more information, saying that a total of 40 songs will be a part of the selection. The expanded selection will be used to celebrate 60 years of Norway at the Eurovision Song Contest.

The selection process will feature six shows, five semi-final rounds and the Grand Final. From each of the five semi-finals, 8 songs will complete, and 2 songs will qualify from each show. The final will feature the 10 qualifiers from the previous shows.

The qualifiers will be decided by the public, and the jury, selecting one artist each. In the final, the public will select the artist that will represent Norway at Eurovision in 2020.

Each show will be split into regions, which will be Northern Norway, Central Norway, Western Norway, Eastern Norway and Southern Norway. However, each show is set to take place in the Norwegian capital, Oslo. No dates have been set yet.

KEiiNO represented Norway at Eurovision 2019 with the song โ€˜Spirit in the Skyโ€™ which finished in 6th place overall. Watch the performance below: