Ireland: Third Junior Eurovision heat complete!

Two acts have qualified from the third Junior Eurovision Éire heat in Ireland.

This year, the format for the selection changed. The competitors are now required to sing Irish covers of well-known English language songs, rather than original songs. Each participant was scored out of 30, and the highest scoring participant advanced through to the next round. The next two highest point scorers then faced one another in a sing-off, with the jury selecting their favourite to continue to the next stage.

The jury consists of Gráinne Bleasdale, who returns for the second year as well as Chris Greene and a guest juror each week. This week’s guest jurors were Jedward, who represented Ireland at Eurovision in both 2011 and 2012.

Here is the full list of participants:

  • Seisear Séiseach – When We Were Young – 25 points
  • Grace Lauhoff – Thinking Out Loud – 22 points
  • Katie O Connor – Counting to Sleep – 23 stars
  • Lauren Doherty – IDGAF – 22 points
  • Isabelle Moore – Falling Slowly – 24 points
  • Savannah Phoenix-Munroe – Lullaby – 26 points
  • Daniel Ryan – Nervous – 21 points

Savannah Phoenix-Munroe received the highest number of points, and as such qualified straight into the semi-final. Seisear and Isabelle followed behind, meaning that they would compete in the sing-off to earn the other spot in the semi-final. Seisear was chosen by the judges to continue to the final.

The qualifiers from this heat will join the previous qualifiers, Anna Kearney, Aoife McNelis, Alison McGrath and Caoimhe McBride in the semi-final. The winner of the competition will have a song composed for them which will be released at a later date.

Stay tuned for more news from Ireland!