Hooverphonic to Represent Belgium at Eurovision 2020

We are yet to reach the end of 2019, however Belgium has already announced their Eurovision act for 2020. Public broadcaster VRT have revealed that the group Hooverphonic will represent Belgium with a song yet to be revealed.

The band members Alex Callier, Raymond Geerts and Luka Cruysberghs are currently working on the entry that they will be performing at Eurovision in Rotterdam next year. The song is in the demo stage, and the final version will be revealed in early 2020.

Hooverphonic have been a part of the Belgian music scene for 25 years, and have developed a recognisable sound that lies between trip-hop and pop. The two core members of the band, Alex Callier (Producer/Songwriter) and Raymond Geerts (Guitar) have worked with various singers over the years, however their current lead vocalist is Luka Cruysberghs who won the Voice of Flanders back in 2017 with Alex as her coach.

The group has released various successful albums over the years, from their earlier albums A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular and The Magnificent Tree to the recent gold certified album Looking For Stars. Their development in sound matches the current music landscape without taking too much away from their own identity.

One of their most popular songs is Mad About You (which you can listen to below) which was an international hit, as were Badaboum, 2 Wicky, Romantic and Eden. The group has toured across Europe as well as the United States, and even recently performed in Japan.

Alex Callier has been following the Eurovision Song Contest for many years, both as a professional and out of personal interest. Luka also has a connection to the contest, having previously participated in the Belgian national selection for Junior Eurovision.