Norway Reveals First Nine Participants of Melodi Grand Prix!

Norwegian broadcaster NRK have now announced the first nine participants of Melodi Grand Prix. The broadcaster has selected five of the artists to automatically qualify to the final, while another four artists will compete in the first semi-final.

This year’s edition of Melodi Grand Prix marks the 60th year of Norway participating at Eurovision. Unlike previous years, this year’s competition will feature a total of 6 shows which will showcase artists from across Norway. The first semi-final, which will take place on January 11th will feature artists from Southern Norway.

The pre-qualified artists are:

  • Sondrey – Take My Time
  • Didrik & Emil – Out of Air
  • Akuvi – Som du er
  • Ulrikke Brandstorp – Attention
  • Tone Damli – Hurts Sometimes

Didrik Solli-Tangen represented Norway on home soil in 2010 with the song, My Heart is Yours. This year, he returns alongside his brother, Emil.

Ulrikke previously participated in Melodi Grand Prix back in 2017 with the song ‘Places’ which finished in 4th place.

Tone Damli previously participated in Melodi Grand Prix in 2009, finishing as a runner-up with her song, ‘Butterflies.’ She also participated at Melodifestivalen in 2013 alongside Erik Segerstedt..

The semi-final competitors are:

  • Kim Rysstad – Rainbow
  • Raylee – Wild
  • Geirmund – Come Alive
  • Lisa Børud – Talking About Us

There will be a total of five semi-finals, where four artists will compete in each semi-final. Just one artist will qualify from each semi-final, joining the pre-qualified artists in the final. This means that there will be a total of 10 artists in the final.

The four competing entries in this week’s semi-final have been released, and in each semi-final, one of the pre-qualified acts will perform as the interval. The order in which they will perform through the semi-finals is as listed above.

The final will take place on February 15th.

Listen to the competing entries of Semi-Final 1 below: