Finnish National Finalists Revealed: Aksel Returns to the Line-Up

Finnish broadcaster YLE have now announced the seven acts set to compete in the upcoming edition of UMK, the national final used to select the Finnish Eurovision act. Returning to the line-up is 2020 UMK winner, Aksel, who was set to represent Finland at Eurovision in 2020 prior to its cancellation. Also featured is Laura, who represented Estonia at Eurovision in 2005 as part of the group Suntribe, and also in 2017 as part of a duo with Koit Toome.

Here is the line-up:

  • Oskr – Lie
  • Teflon Brothers x Pandora – I Love You
  • Danny – Sinä Päivänä Kun Kaikki Rakastaa Mua
  • Laura – Play
  • Aksel – Hurt
  • Blind Channel – Dark Side
  • Ilta – Kelle Mä Soitan

The seven competing songs will be released on YLE’s national streaming service, as well as on YouTube, Spotify and other music streaming services on the following dates:

  • 14 January: Oskr
  • 15 January: Teflon Brothers x Pandora
  • 18 January: Danny
  • 19 January: Laura
  • 20 January: Aksel
  • 21 January: Blind Channel
  • 22 January: Ilta

This year’s final will take place without an audience on the 20th of February, with the winner to be chosen by the Finnish public and an international UMK jury. The finalists were chosen from nearly 300 applicants by a jury of music industry professionals.

This post will be updated as the songs are released.