Eurovision Union Awards 2020: Winners Reveal (Part 2)

It has been another fantastic year of new music from Eurovision and National Final stars, and our Eurovision Union Awards celebrates the best new music of the year with the help of you, the fans! Over the past few weeks, you have been able to vote in 13 categories, and now it’s time to reveal the winners! In Part 1, we will reveal the first six winners, and in Part 2, we will reveal the remaining winners. Thank you to everyone who voted, and without further ado, here are the winners!

Catch up on Part 1 of the Winners Reveal here

Wildcard Song of the Year

This category is dedicated to the songs that we think deserve more love. The nominated songs had less than 100,000 streams on Spotify at the time of nomination, and although they may have not caught your attention during 2020, they should confidently make their way into your playlists now!

This year’s nominees were incredibly diverse, but the people have spoken. The winner of Wildcard Song of the Year is VOSTOK with the song Welcome To The Show. VOSTOK is an audiovisual project created by former Eurovision artist, Kristian Kostov alongside Daniel Kostov and Sasha Xuman.

Coming in second place was SuRie with Rye, and in third was Ryan O’Shaughnessy with You Have Never Walked Alone.

Best Scandinavian Single

There are so many incredible songs coming out of the Scandinavian region, so much so that it deserved a whole category in our Eurovision Union Awards. This year’s selection featured some former Melodifestivalen gems, alongside some national final icons, from Ulrikke, to Erika Vikman and Daði & Gagnamagnið. With a strong field, it was a close vote this year, but former Eurovision winner Loreen came out on top with Fiction Feels Good, a reworking of her three Melodifestivalen entries, including perhaps her most iconic hit, Euphoria.

In second place was Daði & Gagnamagnið with Think About Things, and in third was What Would You Do For Love, by Ulrikke.

Best Male Act

It was another great year for our favourite Male artists from the Eurovision and National Final world, with some big names nominated this year. Some strong albums released from most of the nominated artists, and for those who didn’t release a full album, their single releases stood out from the rest. This was easily the closest vote of the year, so close that we have a tie! Finishing in joint top place was Kristian Kostov and Duncan Laurence!

Kristian Kostov had a great year, releasing music both under his own name, and as part of the VOSTOK project. Duncan Laurence released his debut album in 2020, which was certainly one of the album highlights of the year.

Finishing in third place was Mahmood.

Best Female Act

So many superstars, but which will come out on top? What a strong category, with former Eurovision and Junior Eurovision winners, along with some of the strongest fan favourites. These are the artists that set the bar high in 2020, which led to another very close vote! Finishing in first place is Swedish star, Loreen!

Finishing in second place was VICTORIA, followed by Viki Gabor in third.

EP of the Year

An EP is a prime way to showcase a curated selection of songs, and our nominees this year really nailed the brief with their releases. There was a diverse range of music in the category this year, from the smooth sounds of Jimmy P and Carolina Deslandes to the upbeat bangers from former Eurovision winner, Netta. Despite the strong field, the winner of the category had a strong lead, and the winner is Kristian Kostov with his EP, Mood:

Finishing in second place was Netta with Goody Bag, and then James Newman finished in third with The Things We Do.

Album of the Year

There were countless albums released this year from Eurovision and National Final stars, and it was incredibly difficult to select the handful of nominees for this category. With a range of pop and alternative styles, there was something for everyone to love. Coming out on top with a confident win this year was Loïc Nottet, with his 2020 album Sillygomania.

In second place was Duncan Laurence with Small Town Boy, and in third was Viki Gabor with Getaway (Into My Imagination).

Song of the Year

This is the main event, the category we all anticipate! There were so many incredible releases this year, in the huge range of genres our favourite Eurovision and National Final stars cover. Any of the nominees could win this category, but of course, there can only be one winner. Winning yet another Eurovision Union Award is Loïc Nottet for his masterpiece, Mr/Mme. An incredible piece of music, and a deserved winner!

Finishing in second was Someone Else by Duncan Laurence, and in third was Dorado by Mahmood, featuring Sfera Ebbasta and Feid.

Thank you to everyone who voted, and we will see you again next year for our next Eurovision Union Awards!