All Aboard for Eurovision 2018!

Progress is being made in the organisation of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, with news now released on the logo, slogan and overall theme of the contest, as well as the list of participating nations for 2018. Portuguese broadcaster RTP has been hard at work coming up with the overall concept for the contest, and now we can see the fruits of their labor!

The slogan for the contest is ‘All Aboard,’ and the meaning behind this is Portugal’s place in Europe 500 years ago, where they were the connection between Europe and the rest of the world. As such, Lisbon is central to one of the world’s most significant sea routes. Including the oceans into the theme of the contest promotes connectivity between the nations of which there will be a total of 42 competing at the 2018 contest!

Before we get into the full participants list, let’s have a look at the main logo, and the selection of sub-logos that will be a part of the overarching theme of the contest.

Now to the participating nations of Eurovision 2018, of which there will be a total of 42. We will be welcoming Russia back to the contest after a year hiatus, and we will be unfortunately be missing FYR Macedonia for financial reasons. Here is the complete list:

  • Albania (RTSH)

  • Armenia (AMPTV)

  • Australia (SBS)

  • Austria (ORF)

  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)

  • Belarus (BTRC)

  • Belgium (VRT)

  • Bulgaria (BNT)

  • Croatia (HRT)

  • Cyprus (CYBC)

  • Czech Republic (CT)

  • Denmark (DR)

  • Estonia (ERR)

  • Finland (YLE)

  • France (France Télévisions)

  • Germany (ARD/NDR)

  • Georgia (GPB)

  • Greece (ERT)

  • Hungary (MTVA)

  • Iceland (RÚV)

  • Ireland (RTE)

  • Israel (IPBC/KAN)

  • Italy (RAI)

  • Latvia (LTV)

  • Lithuania (LRT)

  • Malta (PBS)

  • Moldova (TRM)

  • Montenegro (RTCG)

  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)

  • Norway (NRK)

  • Poland (TVP)

  • Portugal (RTP)

  • Romania (TVR)

  • Russia (C1R)

  • San Marino (RTV)

  • Serbia (RTS)

  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)

  • Spain (TVE)

  • Sweden (SVT)

  • Switzerland (SRG/SSR)

  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)

  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Here’s the announcement video!