Eurovision Union’s January Playlist!

Throughout 2017, we enjoyed creating weekly playlists featuring songs from Eurovision and national final stars, new and old. This year, instead of (im)patiently waiting for artists to release new music each week, we’ve decided to focus on new music on a monthly basis.

We’ve selected songs that have been released on Spotify this month, and we’ve excluded songs that are competing in national finals (as we have our national final playlists for these tracks!). Also, since there’s thousands of Eurovision and National Final stars from over the years, it can be hard to keep up with all the new releases, so if you notice a song is missing, let us know and we’ll add it to the playlist!

New Albums

There’s definitely been more singles than albums this month, but the main album we’re excited about is that from Italian Eurovision participant from 2016, Francesca Michielin. Last year, she released a couple of tracks from the album, and they really hyped us up for the album, which is titled 2640. We’ve featured two songs off the album, La Serie B and Noleggiami ancora un film.

There’s also been a release from 2017 Armenian representative Artsvik. The Fly With Me singer released an Armenian language single, which we’ll get to later in the post, but also an English language EP titled It’s Time. We’ve featured the title track in this month’s playlist.

New Singles from Eurovision Stars

Let’s start with our 2017 Eurovision alumni, including Bulgarian representative Kristian Kostov who has released the song The One (I Need You), which has been one of our favourite recent releases. Austrian representative Nathan Trent has two tracks on this month’s playlist, the first being a collaboration with Norwegian representative JOWST, who remixed his 2017 release Good Vibes. The second track is called Won’t Let You Go, which is a collaboration with Poptracker.

Fellow 2017 representative Robin Bengtsson has also released a new track, and it’s a bit toned down from his Eurovision entry, I Can’t Go On. We’re loving the soulful sound of the track, and we can’t wait to hear more. Australian representative Isaiah released the track Streets of Gold last year, but it’s been remixed by Ryan Riback, and we think it’s perfect for this Australian summer.

Next in the 2017 line-up is Blissful, which is led by Icelandic representative Svala. They’ve just released a new track, titled Find a Way. Another exceptional electronic pop song bound to find a place on our personal playlists! Just in time to fit into our January playlist is Cypriot representative Hovig who dropped the single Words are Never Easy, which on very first impressions, we’re pretty impressed by!

The last two tracks from 2017 stars are from duo Naviband, who represented Belarus last year and Hungarian representative Joci Pápai, both personal favourites of the 2017 contest. Naviband have released the Shadow Shapes Remix of the song Biažy, while Joci has released a song called Távol.

Now let’s rewind to previous Eurovision stars, and from the 2016 edition, we’ve got Jüri Pootsmann who has just released the song Vihmapiisad Päikest Täis – difficult to spell, but not difficult to listen to! We’ve also got Poli Genova, a fan favourite, who has released the song Mr President.

From years gone by, we’ve got French representative Amandine Bourgeois who is finally back with a new track titled On ira voir la mer, and it’s safe to say we’ve missed her soulful voice! Danish artist Basim is also on this month’s playlist with a song called Tilfældigt, and we had some big expectations after his past two singles have been absolute favourites of ours. Fellow 2014 Eurovision artist, Emma, who represented Italy is also on the playlist with her new track titled L’Isola.

The last of our Eurovision artists on this playlist is Serbian winner from 2007, Marija Šerifović, who is dominating this playlist with no less than four new singles in 2018. We’ve got Pametna I Luda, Jedanest, Sama I Nervozna and Svoja I Tvoja.

New Singles from National Final Stars

We’ve got a few new songs from National Final stars, including from former German national finalist Mia Diekow, who has just released the track Mondaugen. We’ve also got Italian Sanremo participant Lorenzo Fragola with his new single titled Bengala which is a bit more indie sounding than his previous releases, but this definitely isn’t a negative thing. Also from Sanremo are multiple time participants Nek and Francesco Renga, who are joined by Max Pezzali on the song Fatti Avanti Amore.

Last, but certainly not least, we’ve got the song Delirium by Isabell Otrebus, who previously participated in the Polish national selection, and we think she’ll be back in the national final this year with this very song, but since it hasn’t yet been confirmed by the broadcaster, we’ll just leave this song in the playlist (that, plus it’s just so good!).