That’s how you make a return! Norway selects Alexander Rybak!

It feels like an eternity ago that we were first introduced to this year’s Melodi Grand Prix participants were revealed to us, and we finally reached the night where we’d find out who will represent Norway at Eurovision this year.

A total of 10 acts performed in the Norwegian national final this year, with some very familiar names. The line-up featured Stella Mwangi from Eurovision 2011, Aleksander Walmann from Eurovision 2017 and probably the most notable, Eurovision 2009 winner Alexander Rybak. Here’s the full line-up:

  • Stella & Alexandra – You Got Me

  • Aleksander Walmann – Talk to the Hand

  • Ida Maria – Scandilove

  • Nicoline – Light Me Up

  • Tom Hugo – I Like I Like I Like

  • Charla K – Stop the Music

  • Alejandro Fuentes – Tengo Otra

  • Vidar Villa – Moren din

  • Rebecca – Who We Are

  • Alexander Rybak – That’s How You Write a Song

The voting consisted of three rounds, where the 10 acts were voted on by an international jury as well as the viewers at home. The top four songs as voted by the jury and public continued through to the second round, where the public got to choose the top 2 acts for the Gold Final round 2.

The first round of voting revealed the four highest point scorers, who were Stella & Alexandra, Aleksander Walmann, Rebecca and Alexander Rybak. Going into the third and final round was Rebecca and Alexander Rybak, and it was announced that former Eurovision winner Alexander Rybak would be returning to Eurovision with the song That’s How You Write a Song.

Watch the performance below and tell us what you think! You can also listen to his entry in our Eurovision 2018 Spotify Playlist below.