John Lundvik to Represent Sweden at Eurovision!

Last night the final of this year’s edition of Melodifestivalen took place where the 12 finalists performed their entries once again with the hopes of being crowned the next winner of Melodifestivalen, and the next Swedish Eurovision act.

The show was broadcast from Friends Arena in Stockholm and hosted by Sarah Dawn Finer, Kodjo Akolor, Marika Karlsson and Eric Saade. Over the last 5 weeks, four semi-finals and a second chance round were held, with two acts per semi-final qualifying directly to the final, and two going onto the second chance round. Last week the Second Chance round took place where four more qualifiers were decided.

Here is the full line-up:

  • Jon Henrik Fjällgren – Norrsken (Goeksegh / Northern Lights)
  • Lisa Ajax – Torn
  • Mohombi – Hello
  • Lina Hedlund – Victorious
  • Bishara – On My Own
  • Anna BergendahlAshes to Ashes
  • Nano – Chasing Rivers
  • Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO – Hold You
  • Malou Prytz – I Do Me
  • John Lundvik – Too Late For Love
  • Wiktoria – Not With Me
  • Arvingarna – I Do

The results were decided by both jury and televote, and with the jury vote, John Lundvik raced ahead with an incredible 96 points, followed by Nano with 54 points and Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO with 48 points.

In the televote, John Lundvik also received the highest number of points with 85, followed by Bishara with 69 points and then Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO with 59 points.

With the points combined it was clear that John Lundvik would go on to represent Sweden at Eurovision with his song Too Late For Love. Finishing in second place was Bishara, and in third was Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO.

Not only is John Lundvik participating for Sweden, he also wrote the song that will be representing the UK at Eurovision this year, Bigger Than Us which will be performed by Michael Rice.