Ireland: Final Junior Eurovision heat complete!

The final two acts have qualifiedfrom the last of the Junior Eurovision Éire heats in Ireland.

This year, the format for the selection changed. The competitors are now required to sing Irish covers of well-known English language songs, rather than original songs. Each participant was scored out of 30, and the highest scoring participant advanced through to the next round. The next two highest point scorers then faced one another in a sing-off, with the jury selecting their favourite to continue to the next stage.

The jury consists of Gráinne Bleasdale, who returns for the second year as well as Chris Greene and a guest juror each week. This week’s guest juror was Charlie McGettigan, who alongside Paul Harrington won the Eurovision Song Contest back in 1994.

Here is the full list of participants:

  • Skye Murphy Darrer – Chandelier – 27 points
  • Molly Verdier-Cassidy – The Cup Song – 23 points
  • Orla McDermott – Linger – 30 points
  • Fionn and Roisin Vigors – Teenage Dirtbad – 21 points
  • Rachel Hoey – We Couldn’t Fake It – 20 points
  • Rebecca Cronin – Perfect – 25 points
  • Sophie Bao Garrahy – I Won’t Worry – 23 points

Orla McDermott received the highest number of points, and as such qualified straight into the semi-final. Skye and Rebecca followed behind, meaning that they would compete in the sing-off to earn the other spot in the semi-final. Two of the judges voted for Skye, so she will continue to the next round.

The qualifiers from this heat will join the previous qualifiers, Anna Kearney, Arabella Dolan, Alison McGrath, Caoimhe McBride, Savannah Phoenix-Munroe, Seisear Séiseach in the semi-final.

In the semi-final, the judges will select two acts to continue to the final, while two will enter another sing-off. The winner of the sing-off will continue to the final. The winner of the competition will have a song composed for them which will be released at a later date.

Stay tuned for more news from Ireland!