Junior Eurovision Éire Continues: Here are the second qualifiers

The second heat of the Irish Junior Eurovision selection has taken place, with the next qualifiers decided. The show was hosted by Louise Cantillon.

Similar to previous editions of the competition, the results will be decided by a jury panel. Two of the judges will be permanent fixtures, and they are:

  • Niamh Ní Chróinín – Radio presenter, manager of Irish-language youth radio station Raidió Rí-Rá
  • Fiachna Ó Braonáin – Member of Hothouse Flowers (interval act at Eurovision 1988), judge on Junior Eurovision Éire between 2016 and 2018, composer of the Irish Junior Eurovision song of 2019

The guest judge this week was Brian Kennedy, who previously represented Ireland in 2006.

Each of the participants performed popular songs in Irish. Judges could score up to 10 stars for each artist. The artist with the highest score would go directly to the semi-final, while the next two highest scorers progressed to a sing-off. After performing, the judges chose the second semi-finalist.

  • Shannon Copeland: “Halo” – 26 stars
  • Cora Harkin: “Catch Me If You Can” – 25 stars
  • Sienna Hopkins: “Nervous” – 25 stars
  • Zara Alexander: “Stay With Me” – 22 stars
  • Riaghan Boardman: “Bruises” – 23 stars
  • Rainne Isaibel Marzo: “Pompeii” – 19 stars
  • Grace Nic Ghiolla Ghannáin: “September Song” – 18 stars

Qualifying directly to the semi-final was Shannon Copeland. Cora Harkin and Sienna Hopkins progressed to the sing-off, with the judges ultimately choosing Cora.