Germany to Return to the Unser Song Format

The German Broadcaster ARD has announced that they will be returning to the format which brought Germany the most successful results in previous years. The format is that of the Unser Song selection, where 5 young singers will compete for the right to represent Germany at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The songs will be commissioned from internationally renowned producers.

Castings for the show are due to take place on November 5th in Hamburg, and then on November 12th in Cologne. The national final will then be held on Thursday the 9th of February. The show will be 3 hours, and will feature a jury line up featuring three of Germany’s most popular musicians, Tim Bendzko, Florian Silbereisen and Lena, who was Germany’s most recent winner, who also won the national final with this same process. The winner of the show will be chosen by the public via televoting and the Eurovision app.

During the casting process, potential participants will perform in front of the camera before the selection process to test their abilities. More information about how to enter can be found on the official website, and also