Who Will Georgia Select for Junior Eurovision 2017?

A little while back, we reported that Georgia was beginning the search for their next Junior Eurovision star. The participant would be the home town entrant, after Mariam Mamadashvili won Junior Eurovision 2016, and Georgia accepted the role of hosting the contest this year.

Their selection process was fairly simple, and included artists, whether soloists or groups to submit a song from their own repertoire. The submission period ended on the 1st of September, and have since been judged by a professional jury. This jury included:

  • Maia Baratashvili (Singer)

  • Davit Evgenidze (Musician)

  • Eliso Shengelia (Music Editor)

  • Zaza Shengelia (Producer)

  • Giorgi Asanishvili (Sound Director)

We now have a little more information in preparation for the announcement tomorrow (September 8th) – yes, tomorrow! Tomorrow what we’ll know is the artist that Georgia has selection. For the impatient Eurovision fans such as ourselves, we will still have to wait a bit longer to find out the song. Composers are invited to submit songs, which will be judged and the song will be selected and then released within a matter of weeks.

For now, watch the winning Georgian performance from Junior Eurovision 2016:

To read more about Junior Eurovision 2017, you can read more here, and if you want to learn more about Georgia’s preparations for hosting, click here!