Malta’s Shortlist becomes shorter! 16 Finalists chosen!

Malta are getting prepared for Eurovision 2018 early, with the search beginning not long after the 2017 contest had ended. The first step was to allow artists and composers to submit their entries. After the submission period ended, the entries were considered by a panel of judges, and then shortlisted to a total of 30 acts. Now, we have the list of finalists who will take to the stage, totalling 16!

The acts part of the shortlist of 30 were invited to perform their entries as part of the preliminary phase, and over three days, a jury of international judges reduced the list down to 16 acts. These 16 acts will perform in the national final which will be held in February 2018.

Without further ado, here are the final 16 acts:


Dai Laga



We Can Run

Avenue Sky


Heart Of Gold

Brooke Borg



Christabelle Borg


One Step At A Time

Danica Muscat


Turn It Up

Deborah C


Back to Life

Eleanor Cassar



Jasmine Abela


Love Renegade

Lawrence Gray


Call 2morrow

Matthew Anthony


Breaking Point

Mikhail Attard and Cherylis Camilleri



Miriana Conte





Beyond Blue Horizons

Rhiannon Micallef


Song For Dad

Richard & Joe Micallef


First Time

Tiziana Calleja

Many of these names will be familiar to Eurovision fans, either as previous Eurovision participants or through the Maltese national final in previous years. Some of the most notable names are Lawrence Grey, who has participated in the national final no less than 7 times, but has yet to grace the Eurovision stage. Both Brooke and Christabelle have been strong competitors in previous years, with Brooke finishing in the Top 5 in both her previous attempts, and Christabelle much the same, finishing just short of the win various times. Deborah C is also a repeat contender, as is Richard Micallef who actually went on to represent Malta at Eurovision as part of Firelight in 2014.

An act worth keeping an eye out for is Aidan, who gained fame earlier this year for his cover and mash-up of 12 Eurovision songs from 2017, including the Belgian entry City Lights, the Macedonian entry Dance Alone, runner up Bulgaria with Beautiful Mess, the Italian fan favourite entry Occidentali’s Karma as well as the Maltese entry Breathlessly! Check out the mash-up below!


2 responses to “Malta’s Shortlist becomes shorter! 16 Finalists chosen!

  1. Pingback: Maltese National Final Songs Released with Lyric Videos! |·

  2. Pingback: What’s On Tonight! Your National Selection Guide! | Eurovision Union·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s