Eurovision Union’s July Playlist!

Throughout 2017, we enjoyed creating weekly playlists featuring songs from Eurovision and national final stars, new and old. This year, instead of (im)patiently waiting for artists to release new music each week, we’ve decided to focus on new music on a monthly basis.

We’ve selected songs that have been released on Spotify this month, and we’ve excluded songs that were competing in national finals (as we have our national final playlists for these tracks!). Also, since there’s thousands of Eurovision and National Final stars from over the years, it can be hard to keep up with all the new releases, so if you notice a song is missing, let us know and we’ll add it to the playlist!

New Albums

It’s been a very single heavy month this month, with few album releases (that we are aware of!). Even with EP’s, it’s been very quiet, but the one we do have is from a former national finalist. Followers of Melodifestivalen may remember Ola Svensson from 2008 and 2010, where he competed in the national selection with the hopes of going to Eurovision. Unfortunately he didn’t make it to Eurovision, but has had international success since. After a long wait, Ola has released two songs as part of an ‘alter ego’ project called Brother Leo, with the two tracks on the EP titled Strangers on an Island and Everything On Red.

New Singles from Eurovision Stars

There have been a fair few releases from Eurovision stars this month, so we’ll start with the most recent class of Eurovision. One of our favourite releases of July comes from Polish representative Gromee who has teamed up with Jesper Jenset on the song One Last Time.

From Slovenia’s representative Lea Sirk, we have the new track Moj Profil, and from the Bulgarian group Equinox we have the DJ Kuoga Remix of their Eurovision entry Bones. From returning Eurovision winner Alexander Rybak we have the track Mom, which as the name suggests is a personal one!

We have two tracks from Eleni Foureira, who has continued to ride the wave of success post-Eurovision. She has released the English version of her new single Caramela, as well as the Playmen Festival Remix of her Eurovision song Fuego.

Lastly from the class of 2018, we have Swedish artist Benjamin Ingrosso with his fresh track I Wouldn’t Know.

From former Eurovision stars, we have Donny Montell with one of our favourite tracks of the year so far called Žiūrėk ką padarei. We also have two new tracks from Svala, the first being a solo track called For the Night, and the second being a collaboration with Icelandic rap group Reykjavíkurdætur titled Ekkert Drama.

From former winner Helena Paparizou we have the track Ouranio Toxo, and we also have a new track from fellow winner Sertab Erener titled Bastırın Kızlar which was written by Can Bonomo, another Turkish Eurovision representative.

From *almost* winners, we have Ilse DeLange with her latest song Lay Your Weapons Down. She finished in 2nd place in 2014 alongside Waylon as the Common Linnets. Also a second place-getter is Kristian Kostov who has just released the catchy tune Get It.

The last few songs from Eurovision stars include Blanche who has just released her next single titled Soon. Cascada has also recently released a single titled Back for Good, while Kasia Mos from Poland has released a song called Wild Eyes in collaboration with Norma John, who represented Finland also in 2017.

New Singles from National Final Stars

Not too many releases from National Final stars this month, but the ones that are released are cracking! We’ll start with a Spanish fan favourite, Ana Guerra, who has released her follow up single titled Ni La Hora.

From Iceland, we have a new single from Daði Freyr titled Skiptir Ekki Máli, and from France we have a really great remix of the national final song OK ou KO!

The last few tracks we have are from Swedish artists, with the first being a release we’ve been loving from Felix Sandman who participated in Melodifestivalen this year. The song is called Imprint, and it’s different to Every Single Day, but it sure is a very good song! The other is from LIAMOO who has collaborated with John De Sohn on the track Forever Young!