Portugal: Festival da Canção 2022 Composers Announced

Portuguese broadcaster RTP has unveiled the 20 composers set to compete at Festival da Canção. The composers may choose to perform their own songs, or alternatively choose an artist to perform at the contest.

The 20 competing composers in Festival da Canção 2022 are:

  • Agir
  • Aurea
  • Blacci
  • Cubita
  • DJ Marfox
  • Fábia Rebordão
  • Fado Bicha
  • FF
  • Joana Espadinha
  • Kumpania Algazarra
  • Maro
  • Norton
  • Os Azeitonas
  • Pedro Marques (public submission)
  • Pepperoni Passion (public submission)
  • PZ
  • Syro
  • The Mister Driver (public submission)
  • Tiago Nogueira (Os Quatro e Meia) (public submission)
  • Valas

For this edition, the number of public submissions included in the line-up increased. A total of 4 composers were selected from the submissions pool, while RTP invited the remaining 16 composers. RTP received over 600 submissions from the public.

The contest will feature two semi-finals, with five acts qualifying from each. The Grand Final will feature 10 acts, and the winner will be determined by 50% jury and 50% televote.

The Black Mamba represented Portugal at Eurovision 2021 with the song, Love Is On My Side. Watch the performance below: