Junior Eurovision 2021: Here are the Confirmed Nations so far!

While we are still months away from this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest, this is the time of year where we begin to learn who will be participating.

This year’s contest will be held in Paris, France, at La Seine Musicale. The date is set for the 19th of December, marking the first time since 2012 that the contest has been held in December.

The Confirmed Nations:

Here is a list of the nations that have provisionally confirmed their participation:

Yet to make a statement:

  • Albania – The Albanian broadcaster was due to make a statement regarding their participation back in June, however at this stage there is no statement
  • United Kingdom – The EBU confirmed that they were working to bring the UK back to Junior Eurovision, with their last participation back in 2005
  • Kazakhstan – After the 2020 contest, the Head of Delegation stated that it’s highly likely the country will participate provided they are invited


  • Belgium – Belgium will not be participating due to the costs associated
  • Estonia – Estonia will not make their debut at the contest due to financial issues, however will consider making their debut in the future
  • Israel – Israel will not participate, citing Eurovision as their main focus
  • Lithuania – Lithuania will not return to Junior Eurovision citing low ratings and the cost of participation
  • Slovakia – The Slovak broadcaster made earlier claims that they would be open to making their debut, however have since said they will not participate this year
  • Wales – Wales has confirmed their non-participation, citing ‘current circumstances’, likely the pandemic as their reason for not participating
  • BelarusBelarusian broadcaster BTRC has now been expelled from the EBU, which means that they will not be able to compete at the contest unless another TV channel in the country joins the EBU
  • Italy – Italy will not be participating due to focusing on other projects, including hosting Eurovision 2022

Here are the nations to confirm non-participation without reason:

  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • Norway
  • San Marino
  • Scotland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland