Eurovision Union’s Weekly Playlist (22/52)

Each week, Eurovision Union is dedicated to bring you a specially curated playlist featuring a bunch of our favourite songs from the week, from both national final and Eurovision stars new and old. This week we’ve got a number of new tracks from former Eurovision stars, as well as some older gems!

Listen to the playlist here:

We’ll start this week off with some of the most recent releases that we’re loving, starting off with the new song from former Melfest star Anton, who’s just released a killer tune called L.I.L.Y.  It’s a retro pop tune which is a nice follow up from his previous single Devil. We’ve also got a new release from former Italian Eurovision star, Marco Mengoni. The song is called Onde (Sondr Remix) and features the smooth vocal tones we’ve come to love from Marco. From the Aussie turned Danish Anja Nissen, we’ve featured the song Empire which is part of her recently released EP also titled Where I Am. We reported earlier in the week just passed about the new song from Romanian representatives Mandinga, with the song called Besame which is on this week’s playlist also!

Heading over to Italy, where we’ve also featured a song of Clementino’s new album. The song is called Cenere, and after only just acquiring the album myself, this is the song that I’ve put on repeat. We’ve also got another Sanremo participant from this year in Alessio Bernabei with one of his previously released hits titled Noi Siamo Infinito.

Moving to the Scandi side of Europe, we’ve got Krista Siegfrids, who has participated in Eurovision for Finland, and has twice now participated in Melodifestivalen in Sweden. In this week’s playlist, we’ve got Snurra Min Jord, which was her Melfest song of this year. We also couldn’t help ourselves this week, and we’ve featured another Loreen song. This week we chose to feature Under ytan, which is a beautiful track covered by Loreen. From half of the 2015 Norwegian duo, we’ve got the song Cynical Youth by Debrah Scarlett which features on her recently release EP titled DYS(U)TOPIA.

This week’s playlist features quite a few former Eurovision stars, including Polina Gagarina and Intars Busulis, the latter being featured as part of our Top 5 Non Qualifiers of 2009. We’ve also got France’s 2017 representative Alma with the song 8 ans et des poussières off her album Ma Peau Aime. From 2009 Swiss representatives Lovebugs, we’ve got the song Land Ho! And from Sakis Rouvas, who also participated in 2009 but for Greece, we’ve got the song Apolitos Erotas.

From Bosnia & Herzegovina, we’ve got 2011 backing singer and 2012 lead artist Maya Sar with the song Nasa Ljubav nasa Kuca. From the 2007 Belarusian artist Dmitriy Koldun, we’ve got the song Kogda ja ljubil tebja. From one half of Lithuania’s 2015 entry, Monika Linkyte, we’ve for the newer release called Leisk Man Pasiklyst.

The last three songs on this playlist are Zažarim by Raiven, and this choice of song was inspired by the recent news from Slovenia regarding changes to the language rule at their National Final for 2018. We’ve also got A Gate To Your Heart, which is the cover of the Albanian entry from 2008 by the 2008 Israeli Representative Boaz. Last, but certainly not least is a Junior Eurovision song, since we are getting prepared for the Junior season! Belarus recently announced that the submission period for songs has begun, and inspired by their upcoming selection, we’ve featured their entry from 2016, which ended up being one of our favourites of the year!

Tell us which songs you enjoyed from our playlist, and which songs you would love to see in next week’s playlist! Make sure to follow us on Spotify to keep up with our weekly playlists, and of course Twitter and Facebook to chat with us and other Eurovision fans!